Classification of the Government Schemes

Government Schemes

Classification of the Government Schemes

The Government Schemes are classified into two broader categories: Central Sector Schemes
and Centrally Sponsored Schemes.

Central Sector Schemes:
• These are schemes with 100% funding by the Central government and implemented by the
Central Government machinery.

• They are mainly formulated on subjects from the Union List.

• Besides, there are some other programmes that various Central Ministries implements directly in
States and UTs which also comes under Central Sector Schemes. In these schemes, the financial
resources are not shifted to states.

Centrally Sponsored Schemes (CSS):
• These are the schemes by the Centre where there is financial participation by both the
Centre and States.

• Here the implementation is done by the State Governments.

• These are formulated in subjects from the State List to encourage States to prioritize in areas that
require more attention.

Classification of CSS:
• These schemes are further classified into three categories based on the share of funding
between the Centre and the States.

• Though each scheme envisages financial participation from the states as well, the state share
differs for different schemes.

• Similarly, geographically difficult states will get higher central share

Core of the Core Schemes:
• These schemes comprise six umbrella schemes. Most of these schemes prescribes specific financial participation by states.

• In these schemes, the financial contribution of the States is very minimum. These schemes are legislatively backed or are designed to subserve the vulnerable sections of our population.

Core Schemes:
In case of Core Schemes, the following is the funding pattern followed:

• For 8 North Eastern States and 3 Himalayan States: Centre: State: 90:10

• For other States: Centre: State: 60:40

For Union Territories (without Legislature): Centre 100% and for UTs with legislature
existing funding pattern would continue.

Optional Schemes:
These are the Schemes where States would be free to choose the ones they wish to implement.

The funding pattern is as follows:
• For 8 North Eastern States and 3 Himalayan States: Centre: State: 80:20

• For other States: Centre: State: 50:50

• For Union Territories:

(i) (without Legislature) – Centre 100%
ii) Union Territories with Legislature: Centre: UT: 80:20

Schemes listed in the Interim Union Budget 2019-20:
Note: In the Interim Union Budget 2019-20, the following were the schemes listed under the
various categories mentioned above:

Centrally Sponsored Schemes (CSS):

Core of the Core Schemes:

National Social Assistance Program
✓ Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Program
✓ Umbrella Scheme for Development of Schedule Castes
✓ Umbrella Programme for Development of Scheduled Tribes
✓ Umbrella Programme for Development of Minorities
✓ Umbrella Programme for Development of Other Vulnerable Groups

Core Schemes:
✓ Green Revolution
✓ White Revolution
✓ Blue Revolution
✓ Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchai Yojna (PMKSY)

✓ Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojna (PMGSY)
✓ Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna (PMAY)
✓ National Rural Drinking Water Mission
✓ Swachh Bharat Mission
✓ National Health Mission
✓ National Education Mission
✓ National Programme of Mid-Day Meal in Schools
✓ Umbrella ICDS
✓ Mission for Protection and Empowerment for Women
✓ National Livelihood Mission – Ajeevika
✓ Jobs and Skill Development
✓ Environment, Forestry and Wildlife
✓ Urban Rejuvenation Mission: AMRUT and Smart Cities Mission
✓ Modernization of Police Forces
✓ Infrastructure Facilities for Judiciary
✓ Border Area Development Programme

✓ Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Rurban Mission
✓ Rashtriya Gram Swaraj Abhiyan (RGSA)
✓RashtriyaSwasthyaBimaYojna (RSBY)

Read More-

Leave a Reply